Uncategorized

Side Note from Jambore Sahabat Anak 2013

“Fakir miskin dan anak-anak terlantar dipelihara oleh negara” – Pasal 34 ayat 1 UUD 1945

 

Maybe many of us think that (or maybe that is the right perception) ‘negara’ is referring to government. But, recently I started to redefine that. For me now, ‘negara’ is not only about government, but also us, the (common) people. We can be also defined as ‘negara’. My point here is, that why should we wait and see for government to take care of marginal children? Why don’t we act immediately to take care of marginal children by ourselves if we are able to? So, instead of cursing the government, why don’t we use our energy to do something useful for those marginal children?

One of implementation from that thought is that this year, I joined some volunteering activities related with marginal children. One of them is Jambore Sahabat Anak committee. Jambore Sahabat Anak is an event that allow marginal children to be treated as ‘normal children’ for two days one night. They can play, sing, learn. laugh, eat regularly there. Although I didn’t join the committee from the beginning, but I believe I can still feel the same spirit and excitement with other committees. Most of us were professionals that have main jobs, so we did the meeting after office hours. We were all trying our best to make the event went smoothly to make those children happy and enjoy the event.

In preparation period, I knew many great people that have same passion with me for marginal children. I knew Yayasan Sahabat Anak and the people inside more. It was very fun working with them. I found out that there are many people who think the same with me, instead of cursing government, we choose to do something directly.

At the D-day of Jambore Sahabat Anak, I felt really happy seeing excited faces of marginal children coming one by one to the Ragunan camping ground. We gave them opportunity to break from their daily routines. Even the event hasn’t officially started, some of them have sung in front of the stages. Seeing their excitement really touching. Those 2 days 1 night was very very very tiring, as me and program division have to stand by almost all the time to make sure the event went smoothly. But, I don’t know why, the tiredness didn’t make me sad or angry. Not everything went smoothly, but after seeing excited face of those children like recharge my mood and energy again. That was very fun and touching for me.

I can’t express my feeling with this writing properly, but all this activity convince me that my passion and dream is all about marginal children.

End of Jambore made me quite sad as thinking that those children will go back to their routines. Some of them will be treated unwell from their circles, even family. Some others might difficult to eat regularly. All I could do at that moment only wishes the best for them.

The event this year is almost done for now (after evaluation, it will be done for this year), but I feel that I have to and be able to do something more for those marginal children. The battle to help those marginal children hasn’t over yet, so after this there are still many homework for me, and for all of us to fulfill our duty as ‘negara’.

 

p.s. sorry if there are some grammatical errors, haven’t checked the grammar.

3 thoughts on “Side Note from Jambore Sahabat Anak 2013

  1. Your first sentence caught my attention. We should go back to what Bachelor of Psychology does on thesis: defining. I truly believe that there is a lot of words in Bahasa that could not be defined precisely.
    What I had perceived as ‘negara’ in this content is a group of people who are managing everything, like the government. But when I looked over in Kamus Besar Bahasa Indonesia, it actually covers everything, for example area and community. So it has a huge coverage. And you are right, that we – as a part of community – also have this responsibility.
    But, what I want to bold is that there is no clear definition, task, and explanation about the sentence of ‘Fakir miskin dan anak-anak terlantar dipelihara oleh negara’. What does it mean? Which ‘negara’? Does it mean that the government (as the creator of UU), giving the task to themselves? Or to us? Or to everybody? Or they want to delegate it to some organizations?
    That’s why it nobody thinks that it is her/his real responsibility.to ‘memelihara fakir miskin dan anak-anak terlantar’.
    But, thanks God, there are some people – voluntarily, without being asked – to do that. Thanks to you as well 🙂

    NB: And anyway, I have another word that doesn’t seem right: memelihara. It doesn’t sound like for human.

    • Haha.. First of all, thanks for reading jul! 🙂

      Iya ya, kenapa ‘dipelihara’ ya? Apa mungkin bahasa indonesia lama? Haha

  2. Pingback: Program Pembelajaran Terindividualkan (PPI) Anak ABK | Anak ABK

What do you think? :)

